Home >> About >> News >> Highest Research Honor Awarded to Technology Management Program Chair

In accordance with UC Santa Barbara's COVID-19 response, Technology Management is closed to walk-in assistance.
However, we will continue to conduct business remotely and can be reached via email.
For a list of faculty and staff, please go to our Technology Management Directory.

Highest Research Honor Awarded to Technology Management Program Chair

Thursday, December 6, 2018

Jay Wright Forrester Award Presented to Technology Management Program Chair

Kyle Lewis, chair of the Technology Management Program at UC Santa Barbara, has received the highest honor for research involving system dynamics. The System Dynamics Society presented Lewis and Edward G. Anderson, a professor at University of Texas, Austin, with the Jay Wright Forrester Award for their paper “A Dynamic Model of Individual and Collective Learning Amid Disruption,” which was published in Organizational Science in 2014. The award dates back to 1983, but has only been given only five times in the past decade.

“It is an honor to be recognized for making an impact in organizational research with the use of system dynamics,” Lewis said. “The award is a testament to the high-quality and innovative work and research produced within TMP and the College of Engineering.” 

System dynamics is a computer-aided approach to modeling phenomena that occur over time with feedback. It applies to problems that arise in complex social, managerial, economic, or ecological systems. System dynamics uses mathematical modeling and stresses a continuous view in order to find underlying patterns of policy and behavior. Read more...