Chancellor Henry T. Yang Receives 2016 Arthur M. Bueche Award

For ‘Dedication in Science and Technology’

UC Santa Barbara Chancellor Henry T. Yang is honored by the National Academy of Engineering

The National Academy of Engineering has named UCSB Chancellor Henry T. Yang the recipient of the 2016 Arthur M. Bueche Award. The award, which consists of a commemorative medal, was presented at the academy’s annual meeting earlier this month in Washington, D.C.

Established in 1982, the award honors an engineer who has shown dedication in science and technology, as well as involvement in determining United States science and technology policy, promoting technological involvement and contributing to the enhancement of the relationship among industries, government and universities.

Yang, also a professor in UCSB’s Department of Mechanical Engineering, was cited for “seminal research in aerospace, civil, and mechanical engineering; superb contributions to national science and technology policy; and enhancements to international technological development and cooperation.”

“The Arthur M. Bueche Award is one of the three awards presented annually to outstanding engineers by the National Academy of Engineering, which is the premier institution of U.S. engineers in all fields,” said Rod Alferness, dean of UCSB’s College of Engineering.

Yang specializes in aerospace engineering; aircraft structures; structural dynamics and control; transonic aeroelasticity; finite elements; composite materials sensing and control of structures for wind and earthquake loads; health monitoring of buildings; machining processes; intelligent manufacturing systems; and bio-inspired structural control.

He has authored or co-authored 184 articles for scientific journals, including 54 since becoming chancellor, as well as a widely used textbook on finite element structural analysis. He teaches an undergraduate engineering course every year as well as an online course, and has completed the guidance of 53 Ph.D. and 21 master’s theses. Currently, he is guiding three Ph.D. students with support from National Science Foundation grants.

Read more about the Chancellor.

By Andrea Estrada